One Sonnet of Summer

Ive recently come across this amazing poetry book titled ‘Garden Time’ by W. S. Merwin. The poems are powerful and are all wonderfully compiled. Here is an excerpt from one which i like the most.

ONE SONNET OF SUMMER

Summer has come to the trees reaching up for it
it has come in daylight without a sound
it arrived when the trees were dark in sleep
they dreamed it and woke knowing it was there
but I am an autumn child and my first
summer I was here but was not yet born
I heard the leaves whisper on their branches
and the cicadas growing in their song
I listened to all the language of summer
in which the time was talking to itself
I was born in autumn knowing the sound of summer.

Leave a Reply

